MOYOBAMBA

Aproeco

About Aproeco

The cooperative Aproeco is rather small and familiar with about 250 members. The name also describes the philosophy of the organization: Aproeco means Asociación de Productores Ecologicos (Association of Ecological Producers). The members of the cooperative regard their natural ecosystem as a beautiful and necessary resource for a good life. Rarely have we seen such tremendous nature as in the mountain rainforest near Moyobamba, which is also known as the city of orchids with several thousand wild orchid species.

» Read more

The coffee fincas of some cooperative members can hardly be made out under the canopy of leaves. The fincas are more like a Garden of Eden than a piece of cultivated land. Many live largely in subsistence and cultivate, in addition to coffee, various other plants such as cassava, banana, pineapple, citrus, spices, vegetables, herbs, orchids, avocados and others. In combination with gentle animal husbandry (guinea pigs, chickens, few cattle or pigs, mules) and agroforestry (indigenous timber), they live at the same time largely independent and yet in poverty. Fluctuations in the price of coffee, oil, rice or diesel hit these people hard. They are only slowly gaining access to basic public services. Many still live without running water, electricity or access to the health system. They cannot reach their households by motor vehicles. They live the natural but deprived life of pioneers in the Peruvian mountain rainforest.

How it all began

Large parts of cumpa’s story begin at the Aproeco cooperative. After a first trip to Peru in 2013/2014, cumpa co-founder Lukas went to Moyobamba again in 2016 to do a voluntary internship at the Aproeco cooperative. During the two weeks he got to know coffee fincas for the first time, cupped coffees and was involved in buying and selling in the cooperative.

» Read more

The transparency shown by the Kooperative staff was enormous. One year later, in 2017/2018, Lukas completed his student internship semester in “International Management” at the cooperative again. Several student projects were written around the region and the topic of coffee. We later presented a future study for the coffee region together at the World of Coffee Festival in Amsterdam. We also sent green coffee to Germany for the first time: 12 bags of hand-selected microlots, packed in GrainPro and hand-painted jute bags. This coffee later paved the way for first green coffee orders in Germany. At the end of the 2018 internship, Daniel also visited Peru and the cooperative. The most important thing that developed during this time were the friendships and mutual trust.

The work of the cooperative

In the cooperative one learns in particular about social and ecological innovations in coffee cultivation. In a family-like atmosphere, the cooperative is always there to help members in times of need, for example when members fall ill or have an accident, need money for their children’s education, or need to make investments in the fincas. The mutual help is impressive. At the same time, the technical assistants vigorously promote organic agriculture and advanced qualities.

» Read more

In the meantime, most of the Catimor plants planted in 2012 have been replaced by higher-quality varieties such as Marsellesa, Pink Bourbon, and Gran Colombia. The cooperative is continuously building appropriate fermentation and drying infrastructure with the farmers. Employees receive various trainings on cultivation and production processes. During internal inspections, they walk many kilometers and bring the knowledge to the most remote farmers.

Current initiatives

The cooperative wants to prepare its members for a more difficult future in the wake of climate change. In the latest project, the farmers* are planting 7.5 hectares of lowland coffee (Coffea Canephora) in the lower areas near the city. Here, coffee rust is now ravaging even the once-immune Catimor hybrids, forcing many farmers to abandon their coffee fincas.

» Read more

With lowland coffee in the agroforestry system carbon can be bound, people get a new perspective with coffee and an innovative market can arise. This project is realized by Qoffee Qulture e.V. with the support of SEZ Baden-Württemberg and takes place in cooperation with the cooperative Oro Verde.

Aproeco and cumpa

The lots “Kuntu” and “Kuntu Organic” of Aproeco reflect the soul cumpas. The aroma of the rainforest is for us firmly linked to wonderful friendships.

» Read more

It makes us happy and proud to have developed this network for so many years. We can show through our joint work that it is very possible to maintain empathetic, friendly relationships over long distances and to share each other’s life stories.

Discover all coffees from Moyobamba


All green coffees

MOYOBAMBA

Aproeco

Über Aproeco

Die Kooperative Aproeco ist mit rund 250 Mitgliedern eher klein und familiär. Der Name beschreibt zugleich die Philosophie der Organisation: Aproeco bedeutet ausgeschrieben Asociación de Productores Ecologicos (Assoziation ökologischer Produzent*innen). So betrachten die Kooperativenmitglieder ihr natürliches Ökosystem als schöne und notwendige Ressource für ein gutes Leben. Selten haben wir so gewaltige Natur gesehen wie im Bergregenwald bei Moyobamba, das mit mehreren Tausend wilden Orchideenarten auch als Stadt der Orchideen gilt.

» Mehr lesen

Die Kaffeefincas mancher Kooperativenmitglieder sind unter dem Blätterdach kaum auszumachen. Die Fincas gleichen eher einem Garten Eden als einem Stück bestelltem Land. Viele leben weitestgehend in Subsistenz und kultivieren neben dem Kaffee diverse andere Pflanzen wie Maniok, Banane, Ananas, Zitrus, Gewürze, Gemüse, Kräuter, Orchideen, Avocados und andere. In Kombination mit schonender Tierzucht (Meerschweinchen, Hühner, wenige Rinder oder Schweine, Maultiere) und Agroforst (einheimische Nutzhölzer) leben sie gleichzeitig weitestgehend unabhängig und doch in Armut. Preisschwankungen beim Kaffee, Öl, Reis oder Diesel treffen diese Menschen hart. Nur langsam erhalten sie Zugang zu öffentlicher Grundversorgung. Viele leben noch immer ohne fließendes Wasser, Elektrizität oder Zugang zum Gesundheitssystem. Mit Kraftfahrzeugen können sie ihren Haushalt nicht erreichen. Sie leben das naturnahe aber entbehrungsreiche Leben von Pionier*innen im peruanischen Bergregenwald.

Wie alles begann

Große Teile der Geschichte von cumpa beginnen in der Kooperative Aproeco. Nach einer ersten Reise nach Peru 2013/2014 ging cumpa Mitgründer Lukas 2016 erneut nach Moyobamba, um ein freiwilliges Praktikum in der Kooperative Aproeco zu absolvieren. In den zwei Wochen lernte er das erste Mal Kaffeefincas kennen, cuppte Kaffees und war beim An- und Verkauf in der Kooperative dabei.

» Mehr lesen

Die Transparenz, die von Seiten der Kooperativenmitarbeiter*innen entgegengebracht wurden, war enorm. Ein Jahr später, 2017/2018, absolvierte Lukas dann sein studentisches Praxissemester „International Management“ erneut in der Kooperative. Es entstanden mehrere Studienarbeiten rund um die Region und das Thema Kaffee. Eine Zukunftsstudie für die Kaffeeregion stellten wir später gemeinsam auf dem World of Coffee Festival in Amsterdam vor. Außerdem sandten wir das erste Mal Rohkaffee nach Deutschland: 12 Säcke handselektierte Microlots, verpackt in GrainPro und handbemalten Jutesäcken. Dieser Kaffee ebnete später den Weg für erste Rohkaffeebestellungen in Deutschland. Zum Abschluss des Praktikums 2018 besuchte auch Daniel Peru und die Kooperative. Das wichtigste, was in dieser Zeit entstand, waren die Freundschaften und das gegenseitige Vertrauen.

Die Arbeit der Kooperative

In der Kooperative lernt man insbesondere über soziale und ökologische Innovationen im Kaffeeanbau. In einem familienartigen Umgang steht die Kooperative Mitgliedern bei Not stehts zur Seite, wenn es zum Beispiel bei Mitgliedern zu Krankheit oder Unfällen kommt, Geldbedarf für die Bildung der Kinder besteht oder Investitionen in die Fincas realisiert werden müssen. Die gegenseitige Hilfe ist beeindruckend. Gleichzeitig treiben die technischen Assistent*innen organische Landwirtschaft und fortschrittliche Qualitäten energisch voran.

» Mehr lesen

Mittlerweile wurde der Großteil der 2012 gepflanzten Catimor-Pflanzen durch höherwertigere Varietäten wie Marsellesa, Pink Bourbon, und Gran Colombia ersetzt. Kontinuierlich baut die Kooperative geeignete Fermentations- und Trockeninfrastruktur mit den Farmer*innen. Mitarbeiter*innen erhalten diverse Schulungen zum Anbau und Produktionsprozessen. Bei den internen Inspektionen legen sie viele Kilometer an Fußmärschen zurück und bringen das Wissen bis zu den entlegensten Farmer*innen.

Aktuelle Initiativen

Die Kooperative möchte ihre Mitglieder für eine schwierigere Zukunft im Zuge des Klimawandels wappnen. Im neuesten Projekt pflanzen die Farmer*innen 7,5 Hektar Tieflandkaffee (Coffea Canephora) in die niedrigeren Gebiete nahe der Stadt. Hier wütet der Kaffeerost mittlerweile auch bei den einst immun geglaubten Catimor-Hybriden und zwingt viele Farmer*innen zur Aufgabe der Kaffeefincas.

» Mehr lesen

Mit Tieflandkaffee im Agroforstsystem kann Kohlenstoff gebunden werden, die Menschen bekommen eine neue Perspektive mit Kaffee und ein innovativer Markt kann entstehen. Dieses Projekt wird von Qoffee Qulture e.V. mit der Förderung der SEZ Baden-Württemberg realisiert und findet in Kooperation mit der Kooperative Oro Verde statt.

Aproeco und cumpa

Die Lots „Kuntu“ und „Kuntu Organic“ von Aproeco spiegeln die Seele cumpas wieder. Das Aroma des Regenwaldes ist für uns fest mit wundervollen Freundschaften verknüpft.

» Mehr lesen

Es macht uns froh und stolz, dieses Netzwerk schon so viele Jahre zu entwickeln. Wir können durch unsere gemeinsame Arbeit zeigen, dass es sehr wohl möglich ist, über weite Entfernungen empathische, freundschaftliche Beziehungen zu pflegen und gegenseitig an unseren Lebensgeschichten Anteil zu nehmen.

Entdecke alle Kaffees von Moyobamba


Alle Rohkaffees